(FILES) Picture dated 14 May 1948 shows Israeli Prime Minister David Ben Gourion flanked by members of his provisionnal gouvernement reading Israel’s declaration of independence in Tel Aviv. On November 29, 1947, the United Nations’ General Assembly voted resolution 181 on the division of Palestine in two states, one Jewish and one Arab. The State of Israel was proclamed on 14 May 1948 by the Jewish National Council and was recognized by the United States and the Soviet Union 15 and 17 May the same year. Arab States of Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Egypt and Iraq crossed the borders from north, east and south with their regular armies 15 May 1948. Agreements signed in 1949 between Israel and the Arab States ended the 1948 Arab-Israeli War, and established the armistice lines between Israel and the West Bank, also known as the Green Line, until the 1967 Six-Day War.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *